What happened?

Do you want to hear 
What happened to me?
Are you prepared
for brutal honesty?
Skeletons in the closet,
risking transparency.
Revealing myself now
terrifies me.
Have I forgiven them? 
 so important to you; 
And fears for my mother, 
 Did he hit her too? 
Your conflicted emotions? 
 not my responsibility. 
Holding myself 
 takes all my energy. 
Do you want to know 
 what my father did to me? 
He took my life.  
 I lived in fear, endlessly 
running to survive, 
 stay one step ahead; 
mercilessly driven, 
 no wonder I fled. 
Who would believe it?  
 a pillar of the community.  
Fake family façade, 
  a prison of secrecy. 
Don't speak ill of the dead, 
 but thankful he died.  
After sexual abuse 
 it’s the victims that hide.   

🌻

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started