Moving Towards Wholeness

Legacy of trauma, 
the body keeps the score;
Waking and sleeping,
fearing next footfall.
So I move my body,
tender feelings break open,
strength to surrender,
release raw emotion.
Legacy of trauma, 
banged into my head;
Destroys peace of mind,
an ever present dread.
Buried in books,
immersed in learning;
Through understanding comes love,
education is empowering.
Legacy of trauma 
drums in my heart;
pulsing palpitations
always primed, on alert.
When I breathe in compassion
and trust in myself,
bathed in loving kindness,
spaciousness brings relief.
Legacy of trauma 
impulse to hide;
trusting no one,
fight or flight to survive.
With friends and family
to soothe vulnerability,
I am not alone -
healing comes in community.
Legacy of trauma, 
holding my breath,
Soul destroying,
life or death.
Still, I turn my gaze outwards,
to the heavens above,
feeling held in a divine,
ineffable love.
Legacy of trauma, 
encompassing life,
moving beyond survival,
expanding to thrive.
And through creativity,
fruits of fragmentation,
I know that my spirit
can never be broken.

🌻

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started