Change

Hard to admit when 
I show up unhelpfully,
Kicking myself
at missed opportunity.
Speaking impulsively,
creates separation.
Try keeping quiet,
not offering suggestion.
A door was opened, 
a well-meaning invitation,
But my ego reared up
with a barrage of accusation.
Wish I’d paused for thought,
some time for reflection.
Chewed back my words
given chance for digestion.
I could have listened, 
led by example,
been more understanding,
patience is rarely harmful.
Reached out with kindness,
compassion and curiosity.
Instead I hit back,
thinly veiled animosity.
Next time that I see
a door opened to me.
I hope I’ll respond
more mindfully.
A lesson was learnt,
not totally missed.
I’m imperfectly human,
and I’m doing my best.

🌻

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started